Skip to main content

AGCF research fellow Dr Aime Powell joins world-class research team

AGCF early career researcher is a chief investigator with a world-class research team investigating possible ways of improving outcomes for ovarian cancer patients in Australia using linked national health data.

Under the leadership of Professor Penelope Webb at the QIMR Berghofer Institute of Medical Research, a national team of investigators won a $2.7 million grant over five years to undertake the OVARIAN Study. This study will investigate variation in care and survival, aetiology and risk factors to identify opportunities that could lead to improved patient outcomes in Australia. Professor Webb is delighted to be mentoring and working with Dr Aime Powell (current AGCF Early Career Research Fellow), saying “it is important that our talented early career researchers are provided with opportunities to participate and actively contribute to research projects that are competitive for national funding. Dr Powell’s commitment to gynaecological cancer coupled with her research skills will be a great asset to our team.”  

Dr Powell is excited to be working with Professor Webb and the wider team, saying “It is such a privilege to work and learn from Professor Webb who strives to improve patient outcomes and has successfully conducted two national population-based ovarian cancer studies, the Australian Ovarian Cancer Study and the Ovarian Cancer Prognosis and Lifestyle Study.” 

Dr Powell also shared “I appreciate that we are going through a challenging time, however, it is critical to remember that women’s cancer doesn’t stop during the COVID-19 pandemic. The AGCF Research Fellowship was a critical milestone in my career. Without this opportunity, I wouldn’t have been able to develop and investigate research initiatives within this area because the likelihood of obtaining funding is extremely rare if you don’t possess an exceptional track record. Thank you so very much to the AGCF and the Sullivan family for raising monies that support our future researchers.”